Food / Summer

Eating Fresh and Local

L-

image_1Jon and I have a summer Community Supported Agriculture or CSA share from a local farm here in Montana. We love the chance to open up a bag of fresh produce once a week, and try to figure out what to do with it all (though the sheer amount has caused some anxiety some weeks). It seems like we’ve been playing variations on a theme, with BBQ and brats being the main attraction, with various vegetable side dishes accompanying it.

Todd and Rabecca, our local farmers fromΒ Ten Lakes Farm provide us with a bounty of fresh produce, so much so that I’ve begun blanching and freezing batches of carrots, green beans, and broccoli for fear it will go to waste before we can eat through it all.

image_2

I got this same CSA last year, and loved the idea that almost all of my fresh food was grown locally, all summer long. I also appreciate the chance to experiment with foods I probably wouldn’t have bought at the grocery store (if I could even find them there) – things like garlic scapes, parsnips, radishes, and bok choy.

Last year, while Jon was in Moab, he and his buddies had an epic mini-farm. A large garden they planted and tended to in the heat of the desert summer. It grew to become an out of control, food producing beast. In the fall when I returned to Utah, Jon and I would go down there weekly to pick trash bags full of tomatoes, cucumbers, okra, squash, and hot and sweet peppers. It was pretty incredible the bounty that came from that little chunk of land. Jon canned and froze tons of food, and we made tons of salsa and tomato sauce. I ate my weight in fresh tomatoes. It was great.

While I am no longer the vegetarian I was for about 6+ years before I met Jon, I still appreciate eating mostly plant-based meals, and eating fresh, local, and organic whenever possible. Our meals, whether during the work week or on our camping and road-tripping adventures, are always centered around good, whole food, prepared with love. How do you eat when you’re on the road?

Leigh’s Mayo-free Cabbage Slaw:

  • Fresh red or green cabbage
  • Fresh Kale
  • Fresh Carrots
  • Fresh Garlic
  • Stone ground Mustard
  • Vinegar
  • Black Pepper
  • Celery seed
  • Salt

Shred cabbage, kale, and carrots, I like about 1-2 cups of slaw veg. Mince garlic super fine. In a small cup, mix a tsp of ground mustard with 1/4 cup of vinegar with salt, pepper, celery seed, and garlic. Toss to coat slaw, and refrigerate for a few hours if possible before serving.

image_3 image_5 image

image_4

3 thoughts on “Eating Fresh and Local

Drop us a line

