2014 / Kayaking / Travel / Winter

First Impressions of Florida

~L

IMG_8470

Lush, tangled, wild, intimidating, verdant, at times languid, and utterly full of opportunity. Florida has totally exceeded my expectations. When we accepted our current job, while still back in sandy, wind-blown, water-deprived Utah, I had no idea what we would find here. I had some hazy image in my head of a dark, uninviting, wet place, full of animals that would kill me without batting an eye. I know it’s a little silly, but that was what my reference-less subconscious came up with. Sure, I’d been to Florida’s beaches for vacation, but never to the heart of the swamps to live for 6+ months. I was a little nervous, but I needn’t have been. I’d been in that very position before (going to Utah where if the scorpions and snakes didn’t get me the heat would, or to Glacier where the bears, and lions, and wolves oh my would have me for supper… you get the idea) so I should have come with less hesitation, but it made what I discovered all the more wonderful.

IMG_8498

Florida is beautiful, and complex. In the short time we have lived here, Jon and I have learned mountains of information about the flora and fauna of this landscape, becoming certified freshwater Florida Master Naturalists, and yet we’ve barely scratched the surface. I decided to go for a bird walk today at Fakahatchee Strand State Park, because Jon had the morning trip and I was off, here’s just a few shots from my time wandering around.

 

IMG_8484We’ve been so busy out working or playing from sunup to sundown, so we haven’t had much energy or time left at the end of the day to write about it all, but we’ll work on that, because this place is worth sharing!

 

Drop us a line

